Church History

In the early 50s members of the Jacobite Syrian Community who came to Alleppey for work and business worshipped and attended the Orthodox Church of today in Alleppey. Later they were given permission to celebrate the Holy Qurbana at the St George Marthoma Church.

The members of the community deeply felt the need to have their own place of worship. With prayers and a profound and whole hearted desire to have a Church of their own they started looking for a property to build their own Church.

Their prayers were answered when they found a suitable place in Zilla Court Ward north of the boat jetty and it was bought. Motivation and support for acquiring the land was given by the Patriarchal representative H G Yulios Bava and H.G Mor Clemis

The much needed funds for the construction of the Church was met by contributions of the faithful and donations from various Churches in Malankara.

In 1953 on the land bought for the purpose construction was started in the name of Geevarughese sahada (St George). A lot of difficulties and hurdles came in the way during course of construction. By God's grace problems were overcome.

The praiseworthy contribution of some eminent persons during the shaping of the Church is unforgettable.The plan for the Church was done by Executive Engineer Sri T T Joseph and leadership was given by Koikaledath Chevalier K T Abraham . Weremember with gratitude the other founders Advocate P T Kurian Mannar, Advocate M G Thomas Muranthukal, Sri E J Philip Erithickal,Sri N J Markose Neendusseril, Sri N J Andrews Neendusseril Sri C A John Chethikad, Sri P E Zacharia Attumalil and Founder Trustee Sri M I Kuriakose Murickanadiyil.

In May 1953 the Patriarchal representative to Malankara H G Yulious Bava consecrated this Church in the name of Saint Geevarughese Sahada and celebrated the Holy Qurbana in the presence of a large gathering of the faithful. The jubilation of the faithful of Alleppey on the occasion was a reminder of the joy of King Solomon and the people of Jerusalem at the dedication of the Temple at Jerusalem. The words of H G Yulious Bava during the consecration " THE BIRTH OF A CHURCH IS DEARER TO GOD THAN ANYTHING ELSE" is a reminder of the achievement of the faithful in Alleppey.

We are indebted to God for all His blessings in building this Church. We thank everyone who has helped by way of contributions in money, time and physical work. We remember that members from other communities and other Churches have also made major contributions to make this Church possible.

Subsequent to the peace in Malankara this Church would have been in Niranom Diocese. With the Patriarchal Bull No 44 of 1958 H.H Yacub III handed the administration of the Church to H G Mor Clemis to keep it forever under the See of Antioch.

On June 12th of 1975 H H the Patriarch Ignatius Yacub III anointed Very Rev Madapad Yacoub Ramban as Bishop for the Simhasana Churches in the name Mor Yulious. Consequently H G Mor Yulios took charge of the administration of the Church and shepherded the faithful in an exemplary manner until called to eternal rest.

H.G Osthasios Mor Benyamin Joseph took charge of the Church and inspired the growth of the Church. From 2004 for a short while we were led by Mor Julius Kuriakose. Our Church has been led from April 21, 2007 by H.G Mor Deevannasios Geevarghese who was entrusted by His Holiness the Patriarch with independent charge of Simhasana Churches at Kottayam and its environs.

In 1981 the Church was extended to the west for more space for increasing number of faithful worshippers. In 1995 a new Madbaha was built. The main alter in the name of Geevarughese Sahada and the side alters in the name of St Mary and St Elias III were consecrated on December 4th 1995 by H.G Osthasios Benyamin Joseph.

A Kurishumthotti was built on the eastern side of the Church and was consecrated by H.G Osthasios Mor Benyamin Joseph on 2nd May 2004

A Stone Cross was erected on the western side of the Church and was consecrated by Mor Osthasios Pathrose on 6th May 2007.

In 2011 major renovation work for the Church was undertaken. The side alters that were in front of the alter was moved back behind the main alter. Alter Canopies ( Beskuthisa ) was built for all the alters. Marble flooring was laid. The renovated Church was blessed on August 14th 2012 by H.G Irenious Paulose .

One of our essential needsof our congregation was a cemetery! For almost four decades we were allowed to use the CSI Church cemetery.

God worked wonders and it was made possible for us to have our own cemetery very close to our Church!

The St. Michael's church, Thathampally under the Arch diocese of Changanacherry was kind enough to allot us a patch of land in their cemetery for us. We Thank God almighty and the Thathampally Church for the extreme kindness shown to us. We now have 16 ground cells and a beautifully tiled area with a stone cross in an area we can call our own. The kindness and support extended by the Vicar of Thathampally Church is beyond words!

In the early years of this Church Vicar Priests had to go through difficulties to serve the Church. We thankfully remember them and praise God for their services.

Very Reverend

  • Jacob Kasisa Punnachira
  • Stephen Kasisa Kodakkanal
  • Kuriakose Kasisa
  • P V Ninan Kasisa
  • T C Abraham Kasisa Thekkattil
  • Abraham Kasisa Neriyanthara
  • Punnoosee Kasisa Vayithara
  • Mathulla Kasisa Kuruppumpadi
  • C A Thomas Kasisa Cherthalakal
  • T I Thomas Kasisa Mezhuvelil
  • Roby Jose Kasisa Ariyattuparambil
  • Andrews Kasisa Muthirakunnil
  • John Thomas Yohanan Kasisa
  • Joseph Varghese KasisaThekkekara
  • Mathew Thomas Kasisa

We have been fortunate that we now have Very Reverend Aji George as our Vicar and Spiritual guide. He has been instrumental in reviving the Youth League and leads the active Sunday School, monthly prayer meetings and Vanitha Samajom .

Founders of the Church

K T Abraham Koikkalodathu

    M G Thomas     Muramthokkil

    M I Kuriakose     Murikkanadiyil

    P E Zacharia     Attumalil

    N J Andrews     Neendusseril

    N J Markose     Neendusseril

  • Sri E J Philip Eruthikkal
  • Adv P T Kurian Mannar
  • Sri T T Joseph Ex Engineer Kottayam
  • Sri C A John Chethikadu
All Rights Reserved by St George Alappuzha © 2016
Powered by: